Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: Journeys in Middle-earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Paths Unseen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dion Duran
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
I have a Pathfinder using Paths Unseen to Sprint 1. Pathfinder is several spaces away from the Burglar. The Burglar is in a space with 2 enemies. When the Pathfinder activates Paths Unseen, the Burglar moves to the Pathfinder’s space without provoking an attack from the 2 enemies in the Burglar’s current space.

So the Burglar just “teleports” to the Pathfinder’s space? Did I play this right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Thayer
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a description somewhere that describes how Pathfinders move the team more quickly.

I believe you played it correctly. This is an example of where a rule is written so briefly it's worth a second look.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niall Smyth
Japan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you post the text of the card or ability we can help much more easily.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Kanakousakis
Greece
Heraklion Crete
flag msg tools
mbmb
We played it the same and we believe it's clear that it's played that way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SKYxLoTuS _
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

We played the same here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flo Ryan
Germany
Munich/FFB
Bavaria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We used it quite the same way, but instead the Pathfinder was in trouble and ‘teleported’ the dwarf from where ever to the own location - without provoking the engaged foes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jensen
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Path Unseen ignore the provoke for both the teleported target model and the sprinting Pathfinder?

Example:
I share a space with an enemy Orc. My friendly hero Aragorn is 4 spaces away from me. I use Path Unseen to Sprint 1 moving one space to an empty space. I teleport a friendly hero to my new empty space. Does the enemy I previously shared a space with attack me?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I think the rule for provoking refers to actions specifically, like 'interact action' or 'travel action' as opposed to being moved or interacting with a search token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghost whistler wrote:
I think the rule for provoking refers to actions specifically, like 'interact action' or 'travel action' as opposed to being moved or interacting with a search token.


This is not correct. Check "Provoking Enemies", page 21 of the RRG.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gardner
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To wit:

Enemy groups are provoked in this way if the hero moves either because of a travel action or a game effect that causes or allows them to move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Paths Unseen clearly says “without provoking attacks”
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin L. Kitchens
United States
Gainesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Snowflakes Melt
badge
Snowflakes Melt
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems the intent from the title and the additional exemption from provocation is that the Pathfinder found a hidden route of escape.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.