Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Escape Plan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is notoriety updated after the last player escapes? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Bennett
United States
Claymont
Delaware
flag msg tools
Normally, notoriety is updated in each part of the day after each player has taken an action. The rulebook says the game ends at the end of day 3 OR once all players have escaped. Does this mean that once the last player escapes the game is over immediately and the Update Notoriety step for that part of the day is never resolved? Reading the rules as written it seems that way, but it feels odd.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph H. Anderson
United States
Prospect
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am pretty sure you will finish that last game day and that includes the update notoriety. Vital?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph H. Anderson
United States
Prospect
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am pretty sure you will finish that last game day and that includes the update notoriety. Vital?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Romain Kelfa
Canada
Montréal
QC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you still perform the update notoriety part of the turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sesta
United States
Matthews
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note on page 21 states "Note: Your Notoriety is still updated on the turn you escape. This may cause other players to move Police Officers towards you. In this case, the police are moved towards your last known location: the exit tile where you escaped."

Of course if there are no players police aren't moved but point is that notoriety is still updated when a turn is taken by any player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dcb2088 wrote:
Normally, notoriety is updated in each part of the day after each player has taken an action. The rulebook says the game ends at the end of day 3 OR once all players have escaped. Does this mean that once the last player escapes the game is over immediately and the Update Notoriety step for that part of the day is never resolved? Reading the rules as written it seems that way, but it feels odd.


Correct. That just means if all players escaped at the second phase of Day 3, there's no need to continue to the third phase.

You always do the Notoriety step of each phase that's played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emspace
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Coren wrote:
dcb2088 wrote:
Normally, notoriety is updated in each part of the day after each player has taken an action. The rulebook says the game ends at the end of day 3 OR once all players have escaped. Does this mean that once the last player escapes the game is over immediately and the Update Notoriety step for that part of the day is never resolved? Reading the rules as written it seems that way, but it feels odd.


Correct. That just means if all players escaped at the second phase of Day 3, there's no need to continue to the third phase.

You always do the Notoriety step of each phase that's played.


This is incorrect. @jsesta84 is correct. Even after everyone escapes, you still do the notoriety step. This is clear in the rules cited, plus it counts for end game scoring where you land on Notoriety.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
emspace wrote:
Coren wrote:
dcb2088 wrote:
Normally, notoriety is updated in each part of the day after each player has taken an action. The rulebook says the game ends at the end of day 3 OR once all players have escaped. Does this mean that once the last player escapes the game is over immediately and the Update Notoriety step for that part of the day is never resolved? Reading the rules as written it seems that way, but it feels odd.


Correct. That just means if all players escaped at the second phase of Day 3, there's no need to continue to the third phase.

You always do the Notoriety step of each phase that's played.


This is incorrect. @jsesta84 is correct. Even after everyone escapes, you still do the notoriety step. This is clear in the rules cited, plus it counts for end game scoring where you land on Notoriety.


That's what I said. *scratches head*

Edit: I didn't use the terminology consistent with the rulebook, maybe that's the confusion? "There's no need to continue to the third part (evening) of the Player Action Phase on the third day if everyone escaped in the second part (afternoon). You always adjust Notoriety for each part that is played."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.