I'm a little confused. In the zone of control section of the rules it says that Leg units have to stop when they enter a Ezoc, but un the Play Book, 20.10 Friction Fire it shows a leg unit going from one Ezoc to another? I have tried to find a rule that says that there are exceptions to the Ezoc rule for leg units but could not find any. What am I missing? It seems to me that the Play book is wrong or I missed wher it said a leg unit can take a voluntary step reduction to move through a zone of control. I know they can take a step reduction in a retreat, but could not find where they could during movement.
Leg units have to stop if they enter an enemy ZOC. My guess, without seeing a specific example, is that you are not looking at an exception to the rule but a case in which the leg unit is entering a hex where the enemy does not project a ZOC. ZOCs are not projected into close terrain or stronpoint hexes. A leg unit could move in circles around an enemy unit as long as they stay in heavy bocage for instance.