Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Hellboy: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resilience rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shane White
United States
Ashland
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Is enemy resilience applied to all damage?

Specifically, Liz’s Immolate action does one red die plus living flame level damage, but does not explicitly say to apply resilience.

Resilience, in fact, is only mentioned as applied to basic fight and shoot actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oda
msg tools
But if it were me, I'd really wanna be, a giant woman.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the FAQ:

When a character suffers damage, do you always reduce the amount suffered by their Resilience value / the result of a DEFEND test?

Nope!

Resilience is only applied when specifically stated. So mostly during a Fight or Shoot action. The same thing is true with DEFEND tests for Agents - you only make them when specifically told to, generally when an Enemy attacks you.

Things that ignore resilience / DEFEND tests include (but are not limited to):

• Damage caused by hurled characters.
• Damage caused by being hurled into scenery.
• Damage caused in the End Phase by Inferno markers.
• Liz's Immolate ability.
• Evading Enemies.
• Deck of Doom cards that inflict Damage (unless they specifically say otherwise).

HOWEVER!

When Johann uses his Possess action, the target enemy’s Resilience is used. See “Enemies Attacking Enemies” on page 15 of the Rules.
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane White
United States
Ashland
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks, Oda!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaakko E
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.

We played our first Hellboy game today and Resilience was the main thing that I wanted to get some info on. We removed Resilience from all damage (fires, etc) and it seemed wrong, so I made a note to check it out later on.

So only apply it to fight or shoot action. How about Liz's Flame blast (or what the 1 cube special action was)? That is a ranged attack, but does fire damage, so is Resilience used against that?

Edit:
Aaaand reading the faq thread helps. So resilience is used vs Flame Blast, but not the fire that is spawned on the area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Owen
msg tools
Can someone explain "evading". For example, when you move out of an area with a enemy it says either you can evade and take one damage or the enemy follows you. Do you roll anything for evade?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Godfrey
France
Lissac
flag msg tools
badge
Never fear, Doc Savage is here!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason829 wrote:
Can someone explain "evading". For example, when you move out of an area with a enemy it says either you can evade and take one damage or the enemy follows you. Do you roll anything for evade?


No, you don't roll to evade, it's either/or. If you have two enemies in an area with you, you could elect to pull one with you and leave one behind. You take one damage, on the upside, an agent shooting into your original position would have two downgrades. Now if you do as above he'll have one if he shoots at the enemy you pulled with you and none for the enemy you left behind, ok he scratched you when you left the area, but the advantages more than make up for it as the chances of a successful shot are improved.
Evading is a good way of thinning out a crowd that is clogging up an area.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.