Hi there. First, let me say, what amazing production quality (especially the lovely plastic-y cards!!). I love the game, but wanted to check I was doing one thing correctly.
Let's say I'm playing a 3-player game. The trump suit is red.
Player 1 plays a purple card of mine. Player 2 picks a card of Player 1's to play. Because there are no purples in Player 1's hand, they are allowed to pick a red (the trump). Now, Player 1 is set to win the trick so far. It's now my turn; looking at Player 2's hand, they have both purple and red cards. Am I forced to pick a purple card, since that is the 'trick' suit? Or does the earlier red play change that suit, forcing me to play a red?
I think this sort of rule varies depending on which trick-taking game is being played, and there's no general answer, but what's the norm for Pikoko? As I understood the rules, you must always play a card of the trick suit if possible, which was set as purple at the beginning of the round, meaning I must choose purple. Please let me know if this is the right answer!