Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Villainous» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fate deck rules? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scenario:

Was playing Maleficent's board. King Phillip was already played and on another turn Forest of Thorns was played. Player was fated with a 'Once upon a Dream', which removed Forest of Throns, player argued that since a hero (one had been played prior to forest of thrones) wasn't played that the once upon a dream fate card couldn't be played.

Player believes that the 'Forest of Thrones' takes precedence over the fate deck.

So in incidents like this what takes precedent? The players deck and cards down or the fate cards?

Again the player had a hero on that spot prior to playing the curse 'forest of thorns' there. So when the 'Once upon a Dream' was played it allowed for 'Forest of Thrones' to be discarded, which then forced the player to move to a location with a green fire (since she was on that spot already), effectively getting rid of 2 curses.

Was this played right and my second question is does the fate deck take precedent over the players realm cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
It is correct that Once Upon a Dream would have discarded the curse because King Stefan was located there. Once upon a dream destroys a curse that has a hero at the same location. But what I’m not fully getting is why the player was forced to move to a location with green fire?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The player had green fire in 3 other locations. Player was due to win.


So gate deck takes precedence?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was wondering if fate deck takes precedence over the players cards, when a fate card is used to discard a curse.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James R. Gracen
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you quote the text on the cards, so we know what we're looking at?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Once upon a dream' - Discard a Curse from a location in Maleficent's Realm that has a hero.

'Forest of Thorns' - Heroes must have a Strength of 4 or more to be played to this location.

Discard this curse when a hero is played to this location.

Scenario - King Phillip was played, then Forest of Thorns, and then fate effect card Once upon a dream.

Can the fate card 'Once upon a dream' which is an effect be used to discard a curse when a hero was already in play in that location or must an additional hero be played to the location to then use the fate card? Since the wording on the Foredt of Thorns states 'Discard this curse when a Hero is played to this location'

King phillip was played first
Player then added the forest of Thorns
Then fated with Once upon a dream.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Baeza
Mexico
flag msg tools
mb
in that scrnario, forest of thorns is removed.
Yes, forest of thornes is naturally removed uf a hero is played to its location, but in this case, you're using an effect to remove it, and since you already have a hero theres, you are meeting the requierments to play and resolve Once upon a dream.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James R. Gracen
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
'Prince Phillip' Power 5 Hero Fate card wrote:
When Prince Phillip is played, discard all Allies from this location.

'Forest of Thorns' Curse Villain card wrote:
Heroes must have a Strength of 4 or more to be played to this location.

Discard this curse when a hero is played to this location.

'Once Upon a dream' Effect Fate card wrote:
Discard a Curse from a location in Maleficent's Realm that has a hero.

Sedison1 wrote:
Scenario - King Phillip was played, then Forest of Thorns, and then fate effect card Once upon a dream.

Can the fate card 'Once upon a dream' which is an effect be used to discard a curse when a hero was already in play in that location or must an additional hero be played to the location to then use the fate card? Since the wording on the Foredt of Thorns states 'Discard this curse when a Hero is played to this location'

King phillip was played first
Player then added the forest of Thorns
Then fated with Once upon a dream.

In general, the cards take precedence in the order they are played. Cards played earlier take precedence over those played later. So, Prince Phillip was played first (I'm guessing it was Prince Phillip rather than King Hubert or King Stefan that was played). No problem here.

Then Forest of Thorns was played. Again no problem. That means no *other* Heroes can be played to this location unless they are Strength 4 or more. Since Prince Phillip was already there when Forest of Thorns was played, he stays (even if his printed Power of 5 were somehow lowered to 3 for instance, he would still stay because he was there *before* Forest of Thorns was played), but any new Heroes must be Strength 4 or more to be played.

Then Once Upon a Dream was played. Again, no problem. Is there a curse at that location? Yes, Forest of Thorns. Is there a Hero at that location? Yes, Prince Phillip. The requirements are there, so Once Upon a Dream takes effect. I don't see a reason why either of the other two cards would prevent Once Upon a Time from being played. It is an *Effect* not a *Hero* so Forest of Thorns would not prevent it from being played. Nothing on Prince Phillip's card prevents Forest of Thorns or Once Upon a Dream from being played.

So, as I see it, Once Upon a Dream is played, and Forest of Thorns is then discarded.

Note that Once Upon a Dream is *one* way Forest of Thorns could be discarded. Another, unrelated, way would be to follow the text on the Forest of Thorns card by playing a Hero (of Strength 4 or more) to that location *after* Forest of Thorns has been played (as Prince Phillip was played before it). In other words you don't need *both* effects as a prerequisite to discard Forest of Thorns (which seems to be what you are asking). Only one or the other.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.