Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Withdrawing into Fortifications? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
François Mahieu
Belgium
Rhode-Saint-Genèse
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't play the game for years now... but, just to be sure.

How do you know for sure land units on the map have withdrawn into fortifications? Simply because they are 4 or less and occupy a controlled fortified space? It is just the number of units that implies they have to be assaulted the following turns?

Furthermore, to withdraw into fortifications is always kind of a "response" to an enemy procedure, right? Either during the step 7 of an enemy movement procedure (if your land units are 4 or less to occupy the space being invaded), or, after having lost a field battle in the same conditions (the remaining units being 4 or less), right? You can't decide, on your own turn and/or just by saying so, that your stack of 4 units is inside the fortifications on a controlled fortified space? Or maybe just because there are 4 of your units (or less) does imply they are, indeed, inside their fortifications?
In other words, 4 (or less) of your units occupying a controlled fortified space are always to be considered inside their fortifications, but 5 (or more) of them would first have to fight a field battle, then only the remaining units (if being 4 or less) might withdraw into their fortifications?

I'm confused after all these years with the opportunity to withdraw into fortifications. Thanks for your help.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ley
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Just like you wrote, it is in response to enemy action.

There would be no reason or advantage to withdrawing without the presence of an enemy.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
François Mahieu
Belgium
Rhode-Saint-Genèse
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The things is... Having between 5 to 7 of your units occupying a controlled fortified space doesn’t really make sense to me then. If you miss your  « avoid battle attempt », which is likely to happen, you’ll have to fight a field battle, risking loosing your units before even having the opportunity to withdraw into fortifications.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ley
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
poifpoif wrote:
The things is... Having between 5 to 7 of your units occupying a controlled fortified space doesn’t really make sense to me then. If you miss your  « avoid battle attempt », which is likely to happen, you’ll have to fight a field battle, risking loosing your units before even having the opportunity to withdraw into fortifications.


Well, there can be several reasons for this. You could have just captured a key and that is all the troops you have left after the assault. You can have a prolonged war where both sides have smaller formations of troops. And Some cards trigger off of a field battle and not an assault.

Remember after winter each stack greater than 4 will be returned to your capital. So likely any stack in a key greater than 4 is your offense force. If you never have a stack greater than 4 you probably will never take over an enemy key.
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff C
Canada
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also see 14.1. After the field battle, survivors up to 4 and/or leader(s) can withdraw into the fortification, the remainder retreat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
François Mahieu
Belgium
Rhode-Saint-Genèse
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Talonz wrote:
Also see 14.1. After the field battle, survivors up to 4 and/or leader(s) can withdraw into the fortification, the remainder retreat.


My only concern is regarding the following situation: let's assume you own 5 land units on a controlled fortified space. An enemy enters the space. A field battle then occurs, if you don't success in avoiding the battle. You might then loose all of your units there before even having the opportunity to withdraw into fortifications. The point is, at no point can you decide to put your units inside the fortifications voluntarily, prior to being attacked. You have to pass an avoid battle test to do so, which is weird imho.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff C
Canada
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you can imagine the worstcase situation, you can also take steps to avoid it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
François Mahieu
Belgium
Rhode-Saint-Genèse
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Talonz wrote:
If you can imagine the worstcase situation, you can also take steps to avoid it.


The avoid battle step is optional. Henceforth, one would wisely lay no more than 4 of their units on a fortified space, withdrawing them into fortifications as soon as the space would be entered by the enemy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.