Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam D.
United States
Suquamish
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This kind of thing has probably come up a million times but why on earth does searching for the boardgame "Barbarians" produce "Catan: Traders and Barbarians" as the first result and "Barbarians" (the one I'm looking for) as the sixth? Just how much massaging goes into the results, anyway?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
Yes, I've been suggesting for many years that an exact match for your search term should obviously be returned first in the list of results, instead of buried after other more popular games which happen to include your search term.

If you think it's inconvenient searching for a game called "Barbarians" because of BGG's search returning other titles first which happen to include the word "Barbarians", just try searching for games like "Red" or "Blue"... :/

To me, this is the number one annoying inconvenient usability bug/problem at BGG which I wish would be fixed. And it is such a simple thing to fix, too.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
mbmbmbmbmb
TheCollector wrote:
This kind of thing has probably come up a million times but why on earth does searching for the boardgame "Barbarians" produce "Catan: Traders and Barbarians" as the first result and "Barbarians" (the one I'm looking for) as the sixth? Just how much massaging goes into the results, anyway?

None. It's a simple issue of "go through the database, and return everything that contains the word you wrote".

As said, it would be better if the list FIRST wrote the perfect match and only THEN listed the "contains".
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
Zimeon wrote:
TheCollector wrote: