Popular Tags: [View All]
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
mb
I had this way back, and then lost track. I didn't even know it still existed, but it seems to be alive and well. Can someone give a quick summary of the various editions, rules and product changes, and advice on how to "restart" as a VtES player? I'm not interested in getting into deck building, just curious to play occasionally.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RJ
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing the game this past August. Seems that if you're coming in now, the best way to get started would be to buy into Third Edition and Lords of the Night. A couple starter deckes of the same type will get you a reasonably competitive deck, and Third Edition is a "base set" so it contains a lot of the basic cards for the various deck building strategies.

Lords of the Night is the newest expansion set based around the four independant clans (Assamites, Followers of Set, Giovanni, and Ravnos). It's starter decks are pretty good, and the set has some very popular cards. It is a "mid-sized expansion" and so you can get some decent variety from it as well.

The Third Edition revolves around the Sabbat clans and is bookended by two mini expansions for the Sabbat: The Black Hand (which uses group 3 vampires) and the Sword of Caine (which has mostly group 5). So you can mix in Third Ed.'s group 4 vamps with either. And the cards from those focus the black hand sub-group of the Sabbat.