Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Skies Above the Reich» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bounced! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so my diving fighter was bounced in the Continuing Fire phase and shot down.

Bummer.

Now, the Escort wot dun the dirty deed did not exit (it was an Sx result), so he returns to the Below Trailing position, where he finds he is the only Escort counter in that position.

Is that Escort now available to Bounce another of my diving fighters this Continuing Fire phase, or is it that he can only Bounce one fighter per turn? Or even per wave?

Personally I would have thought that if he's just been involved in a combat - or maybe it's all happening really fast and therefore sort of simultaneous - he's not going to be available to Bounce another fighter in this wave at least, but maybe the next one?

Advice would be appreciated!

TIA
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy (Jerry) White
msg tools
designer
He is available immediately to Bounce another Fighter.

In the example you outlined in your game Tony, it looks like only some of the aircraft represented by the Escort marker did the dirty deed of downing your Fighter, the others managed to return to station with little fuss. It could also mean they nailed your guy quickly, before the formation got far away. And, if another of your Fighters gets Bounced, it means there are a lot more enemy aircraft down there than you supposed.

It is natural for players to look at a game and see a simulation. They want to see a one-to-one correlation between a playing piece and the thing it represents. The player's vantage is unobstructed and simple. The battlefield, however, was a confusing space. Nobody in it had that same uncomplicated view of events, and a good simulation should be able to represent the unreliability of information within a reasonable tolerance and without excessive rules burden. My view of Escort markers is that they represent the presence of enemy aircraft at a particular moment (the moment of Aerial Combat). They also represent the potential for trouble. When such a marker resides in an Escort Station, it means enemy aircraft are in that station or could be there. It means that station can be a source of trouble for your fighters, but you're not really sure how many are there or how many are paying attention to what you are doing. Even after an Escort marker is flipped over to reveal its number, that number is valid only at the moment of Aerial Combat. Thus, if that same marker is involved in two or more combats in the same Wave during an Attack Phase, there were actually more Escort Below Trailing than represented by that one marker.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What a wonderful explanation! Thanks Jerry for making the effort there, bud

As it happened, the Escort didn't get another Bounce anyway so the question was kind of moot.

Can I ask another question, sort-of related? When we move Escorts from one Position to another, do we put the new counters on top of the stack, do we shuffle them, is it last-on-first-off; how it it supposed to go? I suppose this could be especially important when the counter has been flipped to the numbered side...

I am greatly enjoying learning this game. I'm currently playing a game in Early 1944, and I am marvelling at how the tactics we use are changing from one Season to another, and indeed one Mission to another. There are so many variables and so many tactical choices...it's just brilliant. Thank you
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy (Jerry) White
msg tools
designer
Thanks for the kind words and I'm glad you're appreciating the variety as a Campaign progresses through the various Seasons.

We deliberately did not add a rule about stacking. We figured gamers are resourceful and will figure something out. Personally, I rotate the stock, as it were.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool; that's what I'm doing already Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A further question on a similar subject, if I may.

One of my fighters has just got the 'Slow Climb' event and he has to Break Away to the Tail/High Return box. Sitting there waiting for him is a gaggle of P-51s.

Now, whereas P.21 of the rulebook says that aerial combat takes place only in the Escort Phase, we already know from this present thread that it can also take place during the Break Away step too, in the form of a Bounce.

So, there is going to be trouble with those P-51s, but my question is: When? Is it right now, during the Break Away step, or do we wait for next turn's Escort Phase?

And one further question to this point: Since the fighter's Move or Return happens before the Escort Phase, can the fighter exit instead of getting clobbered? I suppose that all hinges on when the scrap happens - not, or next turn.

I have looked on the electronic rule book and this is not covered as far as I can see.

Advice much appreciated, as always.

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is nothing in the Break Away step that makes Aerial Combat occur beyond Event Text. Aerial Combat occurs "normally" in the Escort Phase.

And...


pg 17 Return Phase

Quote:
ESCORT
An Escort marker has no relevance during
this phase. If a Fighter returns (that is,
shifts) into a box with an Escort marker, it
does so. Of course, during the Escort Phase, that
escort will attack the Fighter. Maybe exiting during
the Return Phase is a better choice?
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Chris, that's useful. Just making sure I'm doing things right!

I simply will not let myself 'cheat' at solitaire games!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.