Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

This Guilty Land» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Intentionally failing in the House rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas Bamber
United Kingdom
Oxted
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state:

Quote:
(Generally, it does not make sense to
attempt passage of the Law if you do not have sufficient
Influence in the House.


I think I may have found an exception. Suppose you would like to discard a Law card but there is an Any Law could which you want to retain. Any Law cards are valuable in the Events display because they bring in 6 PW and keep the Opponent guessing as to what to block. (Okay, okay - this is mostly a Justice tactic.)

So you pay the cost of the Law card you do want to discard knowing it will fail. As it failed the opponent does not get any PW. As a bonus this was not a Last Action so you are free to play an Organization/Violence card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's a reason why you would want to do that, though its use in practice is fairly limited and highly situational given the PW cost. That is, spending 4 PW to "discard the hard way" when you could apply that 4 PW toward a 6 PW purchase of VP usually isn't going to make sense unless the number of PW you have available is just-so.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.