Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

U-Boat Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: resetting the tactical display - what happens to ships? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
EDG
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Maybe I'm missing something, but I had a sub that was Sunk by a heavy hit on the tactical display. OK, so I clear off the display and remove the ships already on it, but what do I do with them?

Are the cards for the ships that I encountered discarded for the purposes of the campaign (so I only encounter those ships in that combat and not in any others at least for this Campaign/Patrol), or are they reshuffled back into their decks so my other subs in other areas may have a chance to encounter them?


Also - if you draw a Convoy Card and choose to retreat rather than engage it, the U-Boat doesn't get 1 Stress because it didn't engage in combat, right? It only gets that Stress point after it leaves the tactical display (which it didn't enter this time)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Fantozzi
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
EDG_ wrote:
Maybe I'm missing something, but I had a sub that was Sunk by a heavy hit on the tactical display. OK, so I clear off the display and remove the ships already on it, but what do I do with them?

Are the cards for the ships that I encountered discarded for the purposes of the campaign (so I only encounter those ships in that combat and not in any others at least for this Campaign/Patrol), or are they reshuffled back into their decks so my other subs in other areas may have a chance to encounter them?


Also - if you draw a Convoy Card and choose to retreat rather than engage it, the U-Boat doesn't get 1 Stress because it didn't engage in combat, right? It only gets that Stress point after it leaves the tactical display (which it didn't enter this time)?


Hi,
I think that once a card is used it is placed in a discard pile and remains there untill all cards of a type are used, when you form a new deck with the discarded cards. This is what the rules say: "After you have drawn the last card from a deck, gather the discards, and shuffle them to form a new deck".
This means that you may encounter again ships that you have alredy sunk, but it is not as bad as it may sound; consider these as ships of the same class (the actual name is unimportant).
As for Stress, correct. If there is no Combat Resolution Phase, then no stress is placed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.