Edu Avalon
Guatemala
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
I'm new with this game and love it (just bought a huge collection from someone).

There is something that I am not sure If I understood how it works. I'm talking about damage cards and hits, particularly when you have the ability to regenerate your shields.

Example: an X-Wing with R2 D2: 2 shields and 3 Hull.

a) First attack: 2 damages: The 2 shield tokens are removed, the two damage card stay in place.
b) Second attack: 1 damage. The damage is inflicted to the hull. There are now 3 damage cards.
c) 1 shield is regenerated: One shield token added.
d) third attack: 1 damage: The shield token is removed.

There are now 4 damage cards and no shields:
- Following the sequence, I know that the hull has 1 damage.
- However, If I forgot about the sequence, I see a x wing with 2 shields and 3 hull, with 4 damage cards, which means that the ship should have only 1 hull point remaining.

How do you keep track on this?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jany Vanderlinden
Belgium
flag msg tools
Fan spotted
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
When you have a shield, do not pull damage cards, just remove a shield token. Been a while playing X-wing but that seems to be the most logic explanation?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart De Vuyst
Belgium
Mechelen
flag msg tools
Devil Pig Games Volunteer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it's really simple actually.

First, you remove shields until all shields are gone. No damage cards are added when there are still shields on the ship.

When all shields are gone, you start adding damage cards until the hull value reaches zero and the ship is destroyed.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Damage cards are only ever used when damage is inflicted on the hull.

As long as a ship has shields, you only remove shield tokens for the damage.
Then, once the shield tokens are gone, you pull damage cards for damage vs the hull.