Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Waite
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First a little bit of context; I'm pretty new to wargames having only played Memoir '44 and Field Commander: Alexander to date (Although I do have D-Day at Tarawa and Field Commander: Napoleon on my shelf).

As a new dad (snore) I'm really struggling to get these meatier games to my table so I went looking for something lighter, simpler, and with a smaller footprint; I found Battle for Moscow (first edition).

I've read the rules and setup the board. As I'm pretty limited in terms of free time, I intend to add new posts to this thread as I progress through each turn (I'll aim for 1 turn every day or so).

Setup and deployment

The Soviet units are all the same strength so deploying them was easy. For the German units I tried to place some strong units at the break in the front line and also kept some Pazer units back, particularly in the north, where I hope to break through.

I have no idea if this is sensible or not - time will tell.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Waite
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Turn 1 - Germans

Attempting to Puch through at various points in the front line

Some enemy retreats. Messed up strategically already as forgot to consider terrain when declaring attacks. As a result I was severely penalised for attacking defensive and forest positions resulting in 1 unit loss.

Gained ground in the break in the front line with panzer unit moving forward - and in the south. The situation at the end of the German Turn 1...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Etien
United States
Thibodaux
Louisiana
flag msg tools
1/114th Air Assault
badge
Huey's Forward
mbmbmbmbmb
A similar hex & counter classic I got started with decades ago is Stalingrad, that you can probably pick up for a song.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Yang
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb