Jeremiah Baker
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Greetings game gurus,

I am a neophyte game designer with very little experience. However, I have read all the warnings; "don't believe for a moment that you'll get rich", "your first games are going to be crap" etc.

So my questions to you fall firmly in the philosophical regime of game design. If I believe that I'm not going to sell my game and I can not count on my ability to turn out a quality game (at least at this early stage), then what should my goal be as a novice game designer? What can I look for to be able to say to myself "ok, you did it, you did the thing that novice designers do"?

If I may pose the question in another way, how long and hard should a novice work at a experientially useful but ultimately doomed project before realizing it has served its purpose? Or again to look at the mirrored question, how do I know I'm not giving up too quickly on an idea, notion or concept?

Thank you for your time.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Stapley
United States
Lyman
Wyoming
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As with most endeavors of this "type," you need to have intrinsic motivation. Much like a person who plays in a garage band, or someone who writes fan fiction, you are creating games because you enjoy it, and I think it should start from little more than that. Extrinsic motivations aren't realistic in the game design front, usually, because of the reasons you listed.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iffix Y Santaph
msg tools
designer
badge
If you can't beat the heat... You're not Jack Sly.
mbmbmbmbmb