- frank gallagherUnited States
Can this be played after France falls? In other words, does a conquered France still count as an active Western Minor country with a posture of war? Intuitively, I would have guessed a conquered country wouldn't be considered active, but historically Lend Lease began after France was conquered. The card even says it was played Autumn '41.
Sorry about all the questions. Great game, I'm really taken with the ways that it can go in directions different from history without the feeling that we've gone off the rails. It still feels plausible.
- [+] Dice rolls
- Carlos Márquez Linares(Denethor)Spain
A conquered country is not an active country. Therefore, conquered France would not be elligible for Lend Lease. On top of that, once France is conquered, it ceases to exist and Vichy comes into being. Any rules or cards referring to France are not applicable to Vichy, even if it is an active Allied country. From the rules glossary:
"France / Vichy / French: The rules and cards specifically use the word “France” to refer to that Minor Country before it has been conquered. After France is conquered (no matter how), it is referred to as “Vichy.” The word “French” is used to refer to something that could belong to either France or Vichy."
In the historical storyboard the card was played in Autumn '41 and the marker went to the Soviet Conditional Events Box. Autumn '41 is the first season it can be played historically, since its selection restriction indicates that Russia must be at war (or France must be an active country, which is no longer possible). Therefore, the first Option card segment when this requirement is met is Summer '41. It was selected then and was played the following season, Autumn '41.
- [+] Dice rolls