Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mare Nostrum: Mythology Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam
Australia
Adelaide
South Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can somebody advise me if you're allowed to move military units from more than one province into a single province and combat an opponent with the combined total of units?

OR The above is not an option, but rather each "army" of units from each province moves separately and resolves it's combat first, before moving a "second army" and resolving that one too etc?

2. If the latter, can you have one "army" move in and if it defeats the opposition, decide to OCCUPY buildings, then move in a "second army" and given that there is now no enemy, decide to use these units to CONVERT?

OR must the second army do what you chose the first time? The rules don't seem to cover this scenario...

(NB: in rules it suggests that military units moving into a province without enemy units, can also chose (without combat) to either SACK/OCCUPY/CONVERT
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maarten D. de Jong
Netherlands
Zaandam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
sdafilli wrote:
1. Can somebody advise me if you're allowed to move military units from more than one province into a single province and combat an opponent with the combined total of units?

Most certainly allowed. The sequence is move - fight, but you are allowed to postpone the fight to any moment during your turn. So yes, you can amass a larger force in a single province and then dish it out.

As for military actions after a succesful campaign---i.e., no opposition left standing---you can OCCUPY as much as you want, but you can only SACK or CONVERT once. Suppose you invade province P with a bunch of units, clear out the opposition, and chose one of the above options. If you then, while it's still your same turn, move more units to P, then:
- if you chose OCCUPY before, then the new units can only OCCUPY too;
- if you chose SACK or CONVERT, then the new units can do nothing, UNLESS you undo the SACKing or CONVERTing. Undoing SACKing implies that the sacked item returns to the board., and undoing CONVERTing means that your legion steps down from the influence marker.

If in the next turn your hegemony is still uncontested by the time it is your move again, you once again get to chose from OCCUPY, SACK or CONVERT as if you just entered the province. This way you can bleed a province completely dry---Mare Nostrum is tough sometimes .

Quote:
(NB: in rules it suggests that military units moving into a province without enemy units, can also chose (without combat) to either SACK/OCCUPY/CONVERT

They suggest correctly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam
Australia
Adelaide
South Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Maarten for your quick reply

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.