Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: What if there is no room for troops in winter? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
What if a player has no capital (either it's the protestant, or his capital is controlled by another player), and he has more than 4 times as many troops as he controls fortified spaces? Are the remaining troops lost?

This almost happened in a 2-player game yesterday. At the end of a turn, the Protestants had 8 troops, but controlled only 2 electorates. We wondered what would have happened if he had had 9 troops.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, this one is answered in the faq: http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/faq.htm.

Quote:
Exception 3 to this procedure discusses Protestant units returning home. Can the Protestant end this procedure with more than 4 units in a space (perhaps to avoid undergoing attrition)?

No. There is a strict limit of no more than 4 Protestant units per fortified space at the end of the Land Unit Return Home Procedure. The Protestant player must shuffle units to other electorates until this limit is satisfied. If still overstacked, excess units are eliminated.


I presume the same would apply to another power that had lost its capital(s).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davide Raballo
Italy
Vanzago
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Worse: only the Protestant is permitted to shuffle his units among the available fortified spaces.

Other Powers may leave a maximum of 4 units in fortified spaces if the stack is already located there when Winter comes; excess units must return to the Capital.

If the stack is caught by Winter in an unfortified space, the Power has the option to leave up to the stacking limit of 4 units in the nearest fortified space; excess units may not relocate on other fortified spaces, but they must return to the Capital.

Thus, if the Capital is occupied by the enemy, all the returning units are eliminated. If the Capital is in unrest, returning units suffer attrition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.