Hide
17 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: complete newbie to boardgaming rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Lum
msg tools
hi, i'm from australia and we don't have ANY boardgames, seriously, the only boardgames readily availiable are monopoly, game of life, cluedo, umm.. and all the others are for 3+ age groups.

now, i have recently been exposed to boardgaming world (due to my intense boredom at college), i've got

axis and allies
risk 2210
peurto rico
settlers of catan

axis and allies is usually too "complicated" to play as the setup takes quite a while and my friends just aren't very patient. they love risk and settlers of catan but peurto rico NEVER gets played due to its uncompetitive nature gameplay

now i was wondering what are some good games to buy to start me off. ones i'm interested in include

cacassone (should i buy the big box or just buy the starting one and see how i like it?)
twilight imperium (should i buy expansion along with it?, and how does starcraft fare against it?)
battlelore or heroscape
ticket to ride + 1910 expansion or ticket to ride europe?
are the other variations of catan very different and worth buying or should i invest the money on a totally diff. boardgame?
and any other games you can recommend!!

most games i would try to have a 3-5 player game, but i would like a few 2 player games.

thanks!!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Dennis
United States
Covington
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think a new gamer can go wrong with Carcassonne or Ticket to Ride (Ticket to Ride: USA 1910 is a good addition to this as well.)

I can also personally recommend BattleLore (or alternatively Memoir '44) if you want something wargame-ish that plays quicker than Axis and Allies and is tons of fun.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T. Nomad
Netherlands
Den Bosch
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb