Subject: Has Reiner Knizia Designed 75% Of All Board Games Made? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: knizia [+] [View All]
Rory
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since I'm still new to this hobby, I don't yet really know the big names of designers in the board game industry. However, there is one name that I'm pretty sure I see 75% of the time when I check out a new game. That name is Reiner Knizia. I see he's done all kinds of games, many of which are in the Top 50 here on BGG.

Is Mr. Knizia considered an excellent designer or someone who throws a theme onto a proven concept? I'm curious what people here on BGG think of him.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clark Rodeffer
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
With over 400 published titles, Reiner Knizia is very prolific. But that's still only a very small percentage of the tens of thousands of games published in the last 25 years or so.

Clark

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Takagi
United States
San Marcos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
roboman wrote:
Is Mr. Knizia considered an excellent designer or someone who throws a theme onto a proven concept? I'm curious what people here on BGG think of him.

I think you'll find that there are people that would classify him in both of those categories. I love many of his games, but I would freely admit that many of them are disposable, most likely released because of his stature in the board game world.

I would say that "excellent designer or theme-thrower" is a sort of false dichotomy. You'll see that most of the big name designers have both acclaimed and disdained games. Not every game can be a keeper.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
mbmbmbmbmb