Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Shadowrun: Crossfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 icon grabs combination rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steram Shaw
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hi, I’m just learning the game.

Have I applied this damage correctly?

1) I’m facing Astral shiver. To defeat this obstacle I need to apply damage to the following. 3 in the black circle (any symbol will work), 1 mana (blue) + 1 mana (blue).

Can I defeat this obstacle using 2 icon grabs and a street smart?

First of all, the 2 icon grabs deal 2 hacker symbols and the street smart deals the mask (red) symbol. That will cover the 3 in the black circle. Now do the icon grabs combine. I can use the mana symbols (blue) from each icon grad as I have used in total, 2 hacker cards.



Sorry if this is confusing. I just want to get this right. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can! You got it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Zealey
Australia
flag msg tools
I was under the impression that at the time of playing your first icon grab, you have no decking icons out. So it doesn't trigger. The second one then triggers off the first.

Am I mistaken?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Saeviomage wrote:
I was under the impression that at the time of playing your first icon grab, you have no decking icons out. So it doesn't trigger. The second one then triggers off the first.

Am I mistaken?
Icon Grab's text happens when you're dealing damage, which is after you've played all your cards. It's at that time that it checks whether you played another Hacking card "anytime during this turn". So, even if you played the other Hacking card after you played Icon Grab, you still played it in time.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Zealey
Australia
flag msg tools
Right. We've been playing it all wrong then!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Buch
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yes it's important to split the two phases. First all "when playing this card" effects triggers. Then afterwards you pool your damage from all cards and distribute damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Williams
United States
Stockton
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Just to make sure. Playing 2 icon grabs does give you 4 symbols of damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Estévez
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
2 green and another 2 of your choice among black, blue and red. So 4 damage total with (at most) 3 different symbols.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls