11 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » General

Subject: Is Battlelore fun with more than 2 player? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danny Paquette
Canada
flag msg tools
Good day. It's my first time here, so I need your advice. The other day at was at a friend's house and we played Settlers of Catan. The game was fun, so I said to myself: Why don't you get a good board game. So I searched the web and find BattleLore.

The game looks fun, because I don't really like full tactical game. The reason is that most of time you end up not playing, but fighting for real. This game seems to be ruled mostly by chances, from what I read.

But is the game only for two player? I know it's two team, but is the game enjoyable at more than 2 player. For example is 4 a great way to play?

Thanks for your advice!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mb
The basic game is for 2 -player - as is all the games in this "series" (Memoir '44, C&C: Ancients, and Battle Cry). Memoir and BattleLore both have the ability to "expand" onto 2 boards (with Ancients probably getting the same treatment very soon).

For the most part, this expands into "teams" as you pointed out where one person is the "commander" over the others on his teams. Honestly, I don't find this style of play enjoyable and it takes something away from the base game.

What BattleLore does offer is what they call the "Reluctant Allies" variant of their Epic (multi-player) expansion. This pits two teams of 2 against each other but each person has full control over their own army (one army on each side has a small cardboard badge to distinguish it from its allies). While I have not had the opportunity to play it myself, it appears to be head and shoulders above the other multi-player options they have out there. I think this is truly the way to go if you have 4 players.