Subject: To Demo or not to Demo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Raymond Serra
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
What do people think of games being demonstrated at conventions?

Do designers find it helpful/useful and effective for improving the game or increasing their lists?

Do con goers actually like seeing/playing developing games at conventions or are they just another booth where you smile and keep walking?

I tried finding this question on the BGG forums but came up short.

I'm fairly new to all this and am currently designing a deck builder. Was wondering if I should give the demo table a go or not.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Vande Ven Jr.
United States
Verona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As an attendee, demos are half the reason I attend. I had a long list of games for this most recent Gen Con that I was interested in. With few exceptions, I stopped and watched some of the game, or demoed it personally, before buying. Website reviews are great, but actually experiencing the game is a whole different level.

Note that it does go both ways. I will sometimes do the demo, and I must have the game. Other times it will be meh. But I would say the demo is more apt to bring me in than turn me away.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Stapleton
United States
Chantilly
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I really enjoy doing Demo's to see if I want to buy a game.

I have bought/sold/traded so many games at this point that I really ONLY want ones that will actually hit my table. Sadly that number is a small number anymore as they have to be different than what I already have and be playable with my wife for the most part.

This now comes down to a personal preference on what do you want out of your convention experience. Do you want to try new things and gain a larger exposure to the hobby? This is an easy way to do that.