Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Shadowrun: Crossfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Starting player goes critical during the draw of a new event card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A. Gerald Fitzsimons
Ireland
flag msg tools
designer
Banker Of The Gods
badge
Designed Banker Of The Gods
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 18 it says:
"If a runner goes critical during the Draw a New Crossfire Card step of the turn, the abort run begins with the starting runner."

What if the starting runner is the player that went critical?
Wouldn't that mean it can't begin with the starting player as all players that are critical don't get a turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent Vignola
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you are critical, you don't have a turn in the sense that you don't play. But there is things happening on your turn, like moving all obstacles and bosses facing you. So maybe this phrase is there so this step isn't skipped?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A. Gerald Fitzsimons
Ireland
flag msg tools
designer
Banker Of The Gods
badge
Designed Banker Of The Gods
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daclown wrote:
When you are critical, you don't have a turn in the sense that you don't play. But there is things happening on your turn, like moving all obstacles and bosses facing you. So maybe this phrase is there so this step isn't skipped?
That makes sense. Thanks Vincent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Davis
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Geroid wrote:
On page 18 it says:
"If a runner goes critical during the Draw a New Crossfire Card step of the turn, the abort run begins with the starting runner."

What if the starting runner is the player that went critical?
Wouldn't that mean it can't begin with the starting player as all players that are critical don't get a turn?
The newest rules changed that wording. It now says "If a runner goes Critical when it’s not a runner's turn and the team decides to abort, play in the abort round starts with the runner who would have taken the next turn." There's then another rule instructing you to skip the turn of any runner who is Critical during the abort round.

daclown wrote:
When you are critical, you don't have a turn in the sense that you don't play. But there is things happening on your turn, like moving all obstacles and bosses facing you.
This is actually done at the beginning of an active player's turn.

"At the start of each runner’s turn during the abort run round, move all obstacles and bosses facing a staggered or critical runner to face the current runner. This movement happens before any other “start of turn” actions." (Ending the Game section, pg 19 of the Prime rulebook)
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A. Gerald Fitzsimons
Ireland
flag msg tools
designer
Banker Of The Gods
badge
Designed Banker Of The Gods
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davro33 wrote:
Geroid wrote:
On page 18 it says:
"If a runner goes critical during the Draw a New Crossfire Card step of the turn, the abort run begins with the starting runner."

What if the starting runner is the player that went critical?
Wouldn't that mean it can't begin with the starting player as all players that are critical don't get a turn?
The newest rules changed that wording. It now says "If a runner goes Critical when it’s not a runner's turn and the team decides to abort, play in the abort round starts with the runner who would have taken the next turn." There's then another rule instructing you to skip the turn of any runner who is Critical during the abort round.

daclown wrote:
When you are critical, you don't have a turn in the sense that you don't play. But there is things happening on your turn, like moving all obstacles and bosses facing you.
This is actually done at the beginning of an active player's turn.

"At the start of each runner’s turn during the abort run round, move all obstacles and bosses facing a staggered or critical runner to face the current runner. This movement happens before any other “start of turn” actions." (Ending the Game section, pg 19 of the Prime rulebook)
That does make more sense. Thanks Rob.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls