Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Conventions

Subject: What's a good convention for my new 3-4 hour long game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howdy all!

I'm a new board game developer working on my first game, which I plan to bring to Kickstarter in about a year once the art is done and I've done some promotion. (In case anyone's interested: https://www.instagram.com/goldstruckgames/)

I have never been to a board game convention, but would like to start going to some to demo my game. I'm wondering what these conventions are like. I'm assuming that you can sign up with a game and set up a table and have people play, right?

The problem is my game is medium-heavy in complexity, takes about 30-45 minutes to explain the rules, and generally lasts 3-4 hours.

Any suggestions about what conventions might be good? Or any general advice about going to conventions with a game like this?

Thanks!

[EDIT] Sounds like I should be doing demo versions of the game for conventions, being as I'm not going for playtesting, but to build interest. Does anyone have any suggestions for specific conventions (in the USA) that would be good for this? I live in New York City, but have the means to travel a bit.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott M.
United States
Winter Springs
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Whats your elevator pitch??

I mean if i am going to sit for 30 minutes for rules and 3-4hrs for play time, your going to have to hook me hard that first 30 seconds. And yes i dig long heavy games.

At a Convention though your going to need to distill your game down to a 30 minute snapshot so you can generate table turnover and get enough folks to get a feel/taste of the big pie.

Demoing the full 3-4hr game each time is not practical.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Engelmann
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
Congress of Gamers conventions
badge
Eric's actual photo!
mbmbmbmbmb