Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Santiago» Forums » General

Subject: Conflict between rules pdf and explanation docs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The PDF says if more than 1 player passes during the auction, the player who passed last goes first, etc. The DOCs say if more than 1 player passes during the auction, the player who passed first goes first. The PDF seems like a more reasonable rule, but I don't know the official rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Conflict between rules pdf and explanation docs
ekted (#43415),

SantiagoExplain.doc is clearly wrong. The first person to pass is the Canal Builder and definitely goes last. This file begins with a huge disclaimer.

Santiago.doc was written by one of the designers and Santiago.pdf was checked by the same person. They both agree that the last person to pass goes first amongst those who have passed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Alberg
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Whoopee Doopee, we have fun!
badge
You lost the game!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Conflict between rules pdf and explanation docs
ekted (#43415),

Keep in mind that there are two situations that require ordering: who becomes canal builder, and who chooses their planatation. For becoming canal builder, it is clear in the PDF that "If several players have passed, then the player who was first to pass becomes the new Canal Overseer". This is consistent with the DOC files. The statement that you quoted, that the player who passed last goes first, is in response to choosing planations. A better set of statements would be: The player who becomes the canal builder always chooses last when placing plantations. If multiple players pass, then the first player to pass becomes the canal builder, while the last player to pass selects and places a planation before all others who have passed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.