Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Know a good brand of paints for wargame figs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: minis [+] [View All]
Stephen Renfroe
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
I'm looking for some advice on good paints for wargame figurines. Years ago I used the Citadel paint line put out by Games Workshop. If memory serves they were very good but very expensive. Can anyone point me towards a good brand I can find at a local hobby store?

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Patterson
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm no expert, but I've been very impressed with Vallejo paints (http://www.acrylicosvallejo.com/) for 'Mech painting. They have wargame-related colors and sets, too, for more conventional armies. They come in nice dropper bottles, have a nice consistency, and seem to go quite a ways.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Powers
United States
Marble
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll second the Vallejo. Lots of selection, good quality, and reasonable (but still not cheap) prices.

I use mostly Vallejo paints for my minis. (And cheapo automotive primer)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Fitzgerald
United States
Mazomanie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Best = Vallejo.
2nd Best = Games Workshop.

Professional painter for oh... 6 years or so.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
badge
Success without honor is an unseasoned dish. It will satisfy your hunger but it won't taste good ~ Joe Paterno
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a good general overview of the various paint brands out there:

http://myminiaturepainting.com/acrylicpaints.html

Personally, I prefer Reaper Master Series for the majority of my projects. For a good cheap primer, you cannot beat Dupli-Color sandable primer. You can buy it at auto parts stores like Kragen.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Wagnon