From gallery of napgeorge

This is my first try at any of the Peninsular War conflicts. Here DuPont goes against Castanos, trying to avoid disaster at the hands of the Spanish. I am unfamiliar with this battle. Considering the Napoleonic 20 rules (the game series this game is part of) I will try using the tactical matrix cards for solo play (just by random draws) which adds the disordered result and adjusts the CRT (Combat Results Table), I will use C’est La Guerre cards and the expansion morale rules, but since no “Great Captains” are present, I will be using those rules. (I think it may be a nice touch to add random abilities to non-Great Captain leaders, as well as Chiefs-of-Staff, making them possibly positive or negative and decided by a die roll. May be my next article for a wargame magazine.)

I am playing the historic scenario as the hidden set-up for the other scenarios would have to be totally random. While I am good a deceiving myself in real life, not so much in wargames.

(Editorial note: After beginning to play with the tactical matrix cards, I found them to add depth and period flavor. They are much more well-conceived than the guessing game which AH’s 1776 was, and which to some degree GMT’s BotAR subsystem is. This matrix can give you a combat result prior to going to the CRT, and selecting certain actions limits or compels things like advance after combat. I am just randomly selecting the tactic, which adds to the solo experience – I could see it adding a really intriguing layer with a live opponent. I want to add that the disordered result is elegant, it takes effect after the combat differential is calculated, so it does not effect the current battle. It is removed at the end of the owning player movement phase, which happens before combat – if you are not in EZOC – so the -1SP penalty will apply unless you take a turn to regain order and not attack.)