Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Returning to Glyph **SMALL SPOILER** rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Smith
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a hero uses a glyph to return to town, can he/she return to ANY activated glyph or just the one they left from?

The reason I ask is that (And here's the spoiler alert) one of the scenarios from the Well of Darkness has the heroes separated by rune locked doors. The idea, apparently, is for them to work separately to gain the runes so they can re-group to finish the dungeon. But they all start next to a glyph. What's to stop them from all going to town then all coming back to the same glyph? Kind of defeats the spirit of the scenario....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David A
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MinisterOfPropaganda wrote:
If a hero uses a glyph to return to town, can he/she return to ANY activated glyph or just the one they left from?

The reason I ask is that (And here's the spoiler alert) one of the scenarios from the Well of Darkness has the heroes separated by rune locked doors. The idea, apparently, is for them to work separately to gain the runes so they can re-group to finish the dungeon. But they all start next to a glyph. What's to stop them from all going to town then all coming back to the same glyph? Kind of defeats the spirit of the scenario....


From the FAQ:
Quest 2: Spider’s Web
Heroes may only use glyphs that they themselves have activated until the glyph in Area 4 is activated.


So in other words, yes, you may go back to any glyph, not just the one by which you entered town (this rule is important for surviving quest 1 in fact). There just happens to be an exception to that rule in this particular quest.

[Edit: to include follow-up to FAQ quotation]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Smith
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In other words, read the FAQ ya big dummy! Thanks for the reply, that makes more sense to me now.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.