Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: explorers and conquistadors rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sandy Petersen
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I wrote the first-ever Lovecraft game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay I am trying to get ready to play my Very First game of Here I Stand. I'm the guy who owns the game, and will bear the burden of responsibility in teaching my pals the rules. So I am trying to figure them out the best I can before the big day.

I can find NO reference in the rules, the maps, the cards, or the setup to when the explorer and conquistador counters enter play. Is something wrong with me? When is Rut or Cortez added to the counter mix and made available?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Al Williams
United States
Holyoke
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Section 20.2
Heading: Resolution

"...To resolve these voyages, replace each “Exploration Underway” marker
with a random selection from the pool of explorers currently available
for this power. Resolve their voyages in order from best explorer
(the one with the highest numeric value) to worst explorer..."


Section 20.3
Heading: Resolution

"To resolve these voyages of conquest, first replace a Hapsburg “Conquest
Underway” marker with a random selection from the pool of
conquistadors currently available. Resolve any Hapsburg voyage
first, then English, then French..."

It's a big rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandy Petersen
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I wrote the first-ever Lovecraft game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I read that. My question is,

How does an explorer or conquistador become "available" to a power?

I guess I didn't realize that ALL the counter mix of explorers & conquistadors was ALWAYS available. Is that the case?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
eryn roston
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes essentially that is the case. the power spends CP to initiate a voyage of exploration or conquest and than during draws randomly during the resolution phase to determine which particular adventurer is leading the voyage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the beginning all a power's explorers are available. During the game some may die (low rolls on the chart) or make a discovery and claim the Vps for it, or be lost permanently to the Fountain Of Youth event . They are then no longer available. Same for the conquistadors, except that Fountain of Youth doesn't affect them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandy Petersen
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I wrote the first-ever Lovecraft game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
okay thanks now it's clear. I was misled because in the Set-Up instructions it never said what to do with the conquistador or explorer counters, so I assumed (wrongly) that they entered the game at a later time.

Thanks for the responses. Wish me luck in our first game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good luck in your first game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.