Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

HeroCard Orc Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Special Blocks - what's the relation to Block Mods? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Corné Human
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
in the rulebook it is stated that once you play a Special Block, you are not allowed to play Block Mods anymore. OK... so what happens to any Block Mods I played before the Special Block? Are they now invalidated? Or are you perhaps not allowed to play a Special Blocks once you have played a Block Mod?

There are some subtle differences in the duelling system between Attacks and Blocks and the dependencies that exists between Base cards, Mod cards and Special cards. The rules are not the same for Attacks and Blocks and while the rulebook is quite clear on most of the differences, I can't figure out the ambiguity in the language used for Blocks. Please help.. and thanks if you do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hansell
United States
Rocklin
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chuman wrote:
so what happens to any Block Mods I played before the Special Block? Are they now invalidated? Or are you perhaps not allowed to play a Special Blocks once you have played a Block Mod?


No - You may play these cards in either order and one type does not limit the play of the other type later. Nor does one card invalidate the play of a prior card.

The issue of timing becomes clear if you look at the rules for sets on page 10 of the Orc Wars rules:

"When you play cards during an Attack Sequence, you may play a single card or a set of cards. A set may contain Bases and/or Mods only. For example, you could play a Base Attack and two Attack Mods as a set, or two Base Blocks and a Block Mod. Since an Attack Sequence may only contain one Base Attack, you may not play multiple Base Attacks as part of a set. You may not play Special Attacks, Special Blocks, or Miscellaneous cards as part of a set. Such cards must always be played singly."

In basic HeroCard you may play only 1 'Exlusive' action card on your turn. This generally means that you will only be able to play one Base Attack card. This can be played in a set with 1 or more Attack Mods in one throw. Blocks on the other hand do work differently because both Base Blocks and Block Mods are 'Fast' actions. This means that in one play you could throw down 2 Base blocks and a Block Mod as on set.

Again you may not play any Special Attack of Special Block cards in a set with any other cards.

Peter - The Orc King
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nico carroll
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Just in case Peter's answer isn't 100% clear, the restriction on special blocks is that they can't be played as part of a "set". You have to play the special card by itself, which causes priority to pass to your opponent. The opponent then has an opportunity to play a card in response to your special card, before you can continue playing further blocks.

In other words, the restriction only applies to the timing of when cards are played. Playing a special block in no way restricts your ability to play other cards within an overall attack sequence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corné Human
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome - thanks a lot for making this clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.