Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Redden
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Nut'n honey
badge
"One of the key problems today is that politics is such a disgrace, good people don't go into government." - Donald Trump
mbmbmbmbmb
Reedo wrote:
Okay, as you can tell by my Geek Badge, you can tell that I am a firm supporter of Fantasy Flight Games and fantasy games in general.

That said, is Descent broken?

This is why I ask. No matter the number of heroes, my gaming group cannot beat me when I play as the Overlord. By the way, they are great gamers and are not making mistakes that I can see. At the very least, they are not making obvious and/or stupid mistakes. Furthermore, I doubt that I am doing anything totally awesome. I am a careful manager of cards and threat, but that's it.

Here's a good example as to why I think the game may be broken.

Last night, we were playing Quest Five of Alter...

In my starting hand, I had two crushing blocks and 1 skeleton spawn card.
I quickly dropped the blocks, no big deal, right? WRONG! For the rest of the game, I was able to spawn b/c in order to move forward, as this game necessitates that you do and do quickly, I could always spawn right behind the blocks. I was spawning nearly endlessly ending bad guys, right behind these blocks. What exactly are the heroes supposed to do about this?

FYI, they didn't make it out of Area 2! I was spawning ahead of them behind a block which the quest provided and behind them, again behind the blocks I dropped. In the these narrow hallways, I see no way for them to overcome these hordes of bad guys. They were attempting to move quickly, using lots of battles and guard actions. They even had leadership and the ghost dog. They had a great draw and a great party, one that we designed as what we thought was the best possible.

Please respond. I love this game, or at least, really want to, but it is no fun for anyone when the heroes have no chance.

Thanks,
Jeremy