Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Watkins
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The following is in the 2nd edition avalon hill rules.

STRAITS: Movement across the Strait of Massena is allowed
only if you control both Rhegium and Massena. Notice that both
players could use naval movement between these ports.

I am not sure what it means. Say carthage controls the whole of sicily but rome controls italy. Can a carthaginian army move to Rhegium? If not how do they get to italy??

Andy

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Pytel
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
andywatkins1963 wrote:

Say carthage controls the whole of sicily but rome controls italy. Can a carthaginian army move to Rhegium?

Sure, they can do it with naval movement, which can be used to enter an enemy controlled location, but costs three points and carries risks of being sunk/returned. Once Carthage actually captures Rhegium, then they can move across the straits using regular movement, for only two points and no risk.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moritz Eggert
Germany
Munich/Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The game system of Hannibal allows for the change of political control of spaces even if no battle took place there. And that is the only hope of the Carthaginian player if the Roman player is blocking the strait.

What this rule simulates is that it is pretty easy to block an invasion via a strait if you're the defender, especially as normal strait crossing is not considered a naval invasion but instead just some guys trying to row across without the use of a major fleet.
Nothing prevents you to land at the harbour spaces close to Sicily though, via a naval invasion, with all the risk that a naval invasion has in this game against a superior Roman fleet.
There was a reason why Hannibal took the scenic route via the Alps - any naval action was indeed very difficult, and this is what these rules try to simulate.
Hope that helps...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Watkins
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys i think all of that makes sense.

Andy

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.