Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Minor Power supporting Major power key being assaulted rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Micael Gustavsson
Sweden
Stockholm
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

Background:
We have a situation where the French are threatening to siege and later assault the Papacy-held Ravenna.
However, the Papacy is allied with Venice who have fleets currently at Corfu.
France do not possess a fleet in or near the Adriatic sea.

My question:
As the French use an impulse to lay siege on Ravenna, can Papacy use the minor power's fleet (in the Papacy impulse) to hinder the French from assaulting in the next impulse by invoking the requirements in 15.1, i.e. is an allied minor power's fleet sufficient to disallow the French from assaulting? This would be done by moving the Venice fleet from Corfu the Adriatic sea in the Papacy turn after France have laid siege on Ravenna.

In 15.1, paragraph 3 and 4 under Requirements, it seem to indicate that it is the major power under siege that has to have naval squadrons. Is that the right way to interpret it?
Further, would a solution for Papacy have been to loan naval squadrons from Venice in the Diplomacy phase?

The confusion has arisen due to the fact that Papacy can move, build, fight with Venice's resources, but the question is whether naval squadrons are automatically assigned to Papacy to help him defend in a Siege/assault situation.

Thanks in advance,
Micael
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Once a major power is allied with a minor power, all the units from the minor power act as if they are the major power's units (22.3). So the fleets of Venice can move to the Adriatic Sea and break the seige of Ravenna once the Papacy is allied with them.

EDIT: Saw the 2nd part of your question and wanted to clarify. Once allied, the Venetian fleets are the pope's. So there is no need to "loan" the fleets during Diplomacy because 1) he owns them already and 2) you do not conduct Diplomacy with minor powers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micael Gustavsson
Sweden
Stockholm
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the prompt response!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.