Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Axis & Allies: Guadalcanal» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat & movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Wall
United Kingdom
Ormskirk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a few clarifications needed.

Aircraft attacking land units'airstrips.

For aircraft to attack land units do you simply fire from the sea zone the aircraft is in at the adjacent land zone or does the aircraft have to have been moved on top of the land zone?

Aircraft moving

When an aircraft moves is it one movement point to take off and be placed in the sea zone adjacent to the land zone?

If a fighter is taking off from an aircraft carrier is it one movement point to take off and be placed in the same sea zone that the aircraft carrier is in?

Land units in combat

Do infantry and artillery choose whether to fire at land bases or airfields or can they only fire at other land units?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Polydor wrote:
Aircraft attacking land units'airstrips.

For aircraft to attack land units do you simply fire from the sea zone the aircraft is in at the adjacent land zone or does the aircraft have to have been moved on top of the land zone?

The air unit must move into the island zone.

Polydor wrote:
Aircraft moving

When an aircraft moves is it one movement point to take off and be placed in the sea zone adjacent to the land zone?

Yes.

Polydor wrote:
If a fighter is taking off from an aircraft carrier is it one movement point to take off and be placed in the same sea zone that the aircraft carrier is in?

No, you only use a movement point to cross a border between two zones.

Polydor wrote:
Land units in combat

Do infantry and artillery choose whether to fire at land bases or airfields or can they only fire at other land units?

Land units may not fire at airfields.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Wall
United Kingdom
Ormskirk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks for the reply. To follow up from them, I assume an aircraft is either in a sea zone and can therefore attack in the Naval Combat section or is on a Land Zone and can attack in the Land Combat section
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Wall
United Kingdom
Ormskirk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Have just been reading David Jensen's Tips article on the AH/Hasbro site, where he specifically refers to the advisability of killing the Japanese infantry on Guadalcanal to prevent them attacking the US airfield there. So, presumably infantry can fire at airfields after all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Polydor wrote:
Have just been reading David Jensen's Tips article on the AH/Hasbro site, where he specifically refers to the advisability of killing the Japanese infantry on Guadalcanal to prevent them attacking the US airfield there. So, presumably infantry can fire at airfields after all.

Well, either he's wrong or the rulebook's wrong. I have asked Larry Harris for a clarification. I'll let you know as soon as I get it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
"Krieghund" should probably *note* in his 'signature' that HE is the "official answer guy", as denoted BY "Larry Harris" for such! Good "JORB!" for that as well, man!
cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Coach Z!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It has been confirmed by Larry Harris. Land units may not attack airfields.

http://boards.avalonhill.com/showthread.php?t=24358&page=2
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Kendall
United States
Lebanon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund, I'm not questioning your answer re carrier-launched aircraft, but in our first game we could not find a clear answer to this in the rules and so fell back on the old A&A rule that the sea zone a carrier sits in is the first one "paid for" by that carrier's air group.

From your answer, it's my understanding that a fighter on an island that can be bombarded by a hostile cruiser escorting a carrier in the sea zone next to that island can only move into that sea zone plus one more, but that a fighter on a carrier with that cruiser can move a sea zone further than the land-based plane within range of the carrier escort's guns.

I can understand that an underlying concept might be in play here--that a carrier's mobility allows it to cruise to the "imaginary edge" of its sea zone to maximize its fighter's range while an island cannot be so obliging. Hence the rule allowing a carrier plane to "fly" that first space for free.

However it really doesn't seem right that an artillery piece on that island can shoot at that carrier in that turn as well. These are field pieces, not eight-inch Coast Defense artillery. If that carrier is close enough to the island to be shot at by a 105 battery (or smaller), then why does its plane get a free ride out of the area while the island's plane does not?

I know, it's only a game, but this seems really out of whack.

On another point--also related to the astonishing range of field artillery on islands--am I correct that a submarine operating in the sea area adjacent to an island can be shot at by artillery on the island? (?!?!)

See the previous "I know, it's only . . . ".

Thanks for any insight you can provide. I do appreciate your providing time and answers on BGG as well as the official site.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Barry Kendall wrote:
Krieghund, I'm not questioning your answer re carrier-launched aircraft, but in our first game we could not find a clear answer to this in the rules and so fell back on the old A&A rule that the sea zone a carrier sits in is the first one "paid for" by that carrier's air group.

I'm not sure what you mean. There has never been an A&A game in which it costs a fighter a movement point simply to launch from or land on a carrier. It only costs movement points to cross boundaries between sea zones and/or land territories. This is part of what makes carriers valuable.

Barry Kendall wrote:
From your answer, it's my understanding that a fighter on an island that can be bombarded by a hostile cruiser escorting a carrier in the sea zone next to that island can only move into that sea zone plus one more, but that a fighter on a carrier with that cruiser can move a sea zone further than the land-based plane within range of the carrier escort's guns.

That's correct.

Barry Kendall wrote:
I can understand that an underlying concept might be in play here--that a carrier's mobility allows it to cruise to the "imaginary edge" of its sea zone to maximize its fighter's range while an island cannot be so obliging. Hence the rule allowing a carrier plane to "fly" that first space for free.

However it really doesn't seem right that an artillery piece on that island can shoot at that carrier in that turn as well. These are field pieces, not eight-inch Coast Defense artillery. If that carrier is close enough to the island to be shot at by a 105 battery (or smaller), then why does its plane get a free ride out of the area while the island's plane does not?

I know, it's only a game, but this seems really out of whack.

You said it - it's only a game. You can only micromanage things so much before the system isn't simple anymore. Sometimes realism is sacrificed for strategic options.

Barry Kendall wrote:
On another point--also related to the astonishing range of field artillery on islands--am I correct that a submarine operating in the sea area adjacent to an island can be shot at by artillery on the island? (?!?!)

Yes.

Barry Kendall wrote:
Thanks for any insight you can provide. I do appreciate your providing time and answers on BGG as well as the official site.

You're quite welcome!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.