Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » General

Subject: Scenario played both sides counts as 1 game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Mergaerts
Belgium
Werchter
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
So, what's the general rule for a session/game of Memoir '44?

We (that's me and my son) always play a scenario twice and sum-up the VP, which counts as 1 'game'. I notice that this doesn't happen all the time, and was just curious how this is used a a rule to rate scenarios etc. since it influences the way a scenario feels balanced or not, etc.

Just interested on what's the most common way scenarios are played.

Regards,
Merg
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I always try to play both sides before moving on as well. But I consider each play a full game. Th main reason for this is I always record my plays over at DOW's site - which asks you which side you played. So a double session of the same scenario is always recorded as 2 games. Plus, there are still times I can only get one game in and never get the chance to go back with the same opponent on the sam scenario.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Murray Grelis
Australia
Surry Hills
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
and crikey!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with Brian. Playing one side is a game.

I guess I'd call playing both ends a 'match'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Spellman
United States
Fishers
IN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One side is a GAME

But playing both sides and adding up the VP determines the winner

That is how I was taught to counter the Balance issues/arguement
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Mergaerts
Belgium
Werchter
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
Thanks all for the clarification. I just received notice from DoW that the Airpack will be shipping this week, so looking forward even more 'games'!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Tonkin
United States
Smyrna
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, so one game on each side is a match. You add up the total victory points you earned while playing each side to determine the winner of the match. What do you do when it's a tie?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.