Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking bunker from wire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Franklin
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just started playing M44 this week, and while playing the Sword Beach scenario, I think we were playing with a wrong rule.
When infantry were in a hex containing wire adjacent to a bunker, we allowed them to attack with 2 dice. The reason I thought that was because I recalled reading in the rules about how terrain battle restrictions were not cumulative. But after the game when reviewing the rules I saw that the section talking about that only referred to terrain and objects in the same hex.
In the case in question, it is attacking from one hex with wire (-1), into a bunker (-1) in another hex, so I think we should have only given them 1 die.
This seems pretty clear to me now, but I wanted to check and see what everyone else thought.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is correct. The modifiers do not stack on the same hex but can accumulate when two hexes are taken into account. So an infantry attacking a bunkr from a wire would battle at -2 dice (-1 each for the bunker and wire) and should have rolled only 1 die under normal circumstances.

Similarly, armor battle out of a town at -2 and into a town at -2. So if you run into this situation, armor battle at 3-4 = -1 die (i.e. can't attack from one town to the next).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.