BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Please help! Short survey into board gaming rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Krister Nielsen
Sweden
flag msg tools
Hello everyone,

This is my first post and i was hoping to get an insight into what you, more experienced gamers like and dislike about board games. I am posting this survey because i have a bachelor's degree in game design and have been thinking of trying my hands in designing a board game. The program i graduated from was mainly focused on video games, but as it stands now it is extremely hard to get into the business. Since many of the processes and rules of design are the same, i thought i might give board games or a card game a serious attempt.

So this survey is my first step and the questions are:

1. What aspects or functions do you really like and dislike about any board or card game? (Explain what the aspect/function is and from which game. This could be anything from the coolness of a well put together single player game to a game with advanced negotiations.)

2. What do you feel is missing in todays board or card games? (Is it longevity? Or is it lack of dimension? Or maybe perhaps better graphics on the boards?)

I would appreciate any input since i'm somewhat of a newbie. I've played a lot of card and board games but not that many different ones, mostly the same, so i lack a broader perspective.

Thanks for you help!
Krister Nielsen
Stockholm, Sweden

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg r
United States
TROY
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Your never going to get a game that appeals to everyone, look at some of the fights that have started in the Agricola threads.