Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Munchkin» Forums » General

Subject: Rule question re: thieves rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bcdm
Canada
Unspecified
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mb
Here's a question for the geeks out there:

Is a thief allowed to use his thieving ability when he's first level? There's nothing on the card to indicate that he can't, even though he would be limited by the number of cards in his hand (since you have to discard a card to use the ability), but if you've got 2-3 junk cards in your hand, you're all but guaranteed getting an item with minimal loss. Acceptable or no?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Rule question re: thieves
bcdm (#50084),
It sounds like a very Munchkinly thing to do, so I don't think there's a problem with it. There are a lot of things that could conceivably be harmless against a level 1 character.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Beuker
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Re:Rule question re: thieves
bcdm (#50084),
We ruled that if you are a level 1, you can not use the theif ability as there is no consequence for getting thumped if you don't role a 4,5,or6.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarod M
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Re:Rule question re: thieves
bcdm (#50084),

From the Munchkin FAQ:
http://www.sjgames.com/errata/munchkin.html

Q. What happens to a Level 1 thief who fails an attempt to steal? Does he die?

A. Nothing happens to him. You can't go below Level 1.


So, yes, you can steal as a level one Thief. In fact, do it as much as you can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.