Recommend
10 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: "1812" - OFFICIAL SPI ERRATA FOR BOTH GAMES rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Saha
United States
California
flag msg tools
from Web-grognard
Subject: Errata SPI 1812
From: Ross Hagglund

From: Consolidated Errata for WORLD WAR II and 1812 twin game
(as of December 1973) insert to 1812

1812 Grand Tactical (Hex)

This errata follows the sequence of the 1812 Grand Tactical Game Rules Folder.

GAME COMPONENTS
(Clarification): The Time Record and Reinforcement Chart is affixed to
the rules folder.

ATTRITION
(Omission): Ignore attrition results if no unit of the specified type is
available on the map.

FORCED MARCH
(Clarification): Units which attempted to double or triple force march are not required to expend exactly double or triple their normal Movement Allowance if their march is successful. They may spend less.

ZONES OF CONTROL
(B)(Clarification): Infantry and non-combat units which began their
Movement Phase in an Enemy controlled hex may end that Movement Phase
in another Enemy controlled hex. They may not, however, move directly from one Enemy controlled hex to another. Cavalry units which begin their
Movement Phase in an Enemy controlled hex may freely leave that hex
without incurring any Movement penalty. Leader units are treated as cavalry units with respect to Zones of Control rules, except that Leader units do not extend a Zone of Control into the hexes adjacent to the hex they occupy.

COMBAT
(B)(Omission): Every unit in a stack adjacent to an Enemy occupied hex must participate in the same attack (Exception: Fortresses).


HOW TO USE THE COMBAT RESULTS TABLE

(Corrections): Mathematically, to compute combat percentages divide the
Defenders total Combat Strength into 100 times the Attacker's total Combat Strength.

In a "1/2 EX" combat result calculate the Attacker's losses on the basis on the printed Combat Strength (Unmodified by Terrain effects) of the eliminated defending units.

When retreating before combat, or retreating as the result on an (rs) Combat result, units are required to pay all normal terrain entry costs.

In retreats dictated by a combat result of (r1 or r2) units are not required to pay normal terrain entry costs but must retreat exactly the specified number of hexes or onto an adjacent Friendly controlled Fortress hex.

In this section Players should ignore the note concerning the Attacker's option to retreat uninvolved units.

All Friendly units stacked adjacent to an Enemy occupied hex must participate in the same attack (Exception: Fortresses).

SUPPLY
(D) (Correction): Depot units can be a source of supply only for French
combat units in the same Area.

(G) (Correction): Sub case #4 - The adjacent Area contains a Friendly
Supply unit.


DEPLETION OF AREAS
(Clarification): The depletion of Areas takes effect at the end of the
Supply Interphase; therefore, an Area that becomes 100% depleted in the
current Supply Interphase could not be used to supply any combat units in the next Supply Interphase.

LEADERS
(Correction): Leader units stacked with Friendly combat units in a Fortress do contribute their Leadership bonus either in attack or
defense.

(A) (Change): Leadership Bonuses are added after Combat Strengths are modified due to terrain effects.

FORTRESSES

(C) (Correction): Units defending on a Fortress hex double (not triple) their Combat Strength.

(E) (Omission): Units stacked in a Fortress hex are never required to attack any adjacent Enemy occupied hex. This is the sole exception to Movement Case (J). If units in a Fortress hex attack any Enemy occupied hex they must attack all adjacent Enemy occupied hexes in a combined battle (except Enemy occupied hexes divided from the Fortress hex by an
unbridged river hexside).

(F) (Correction): Units in a besieged Fortress hex at the end of the game
are not eliminated, nor are Friendly units which are adjacent to the Fortress and in Enemy controlled hexes. The Player besieging the Fortress hex does not receive Victory Points for the Fortress. The Player whose Fortress is besieged retains control of the Fortress and receives the appropriate Victory Points.

SCENARIO #1
(Correction): The current Victory Point level (at the start of the scenario) is (7).


EXAMPLE OF PLAY (After the Game Credits)

(Correction): The example is incorrect in combat alternative #2. Attacks
across bridged river hexsides may only be conducted at combat odds of 160% or better (as noted on the Terrain Effects Chart)

TIME RECORD & REINFORCEMENT CHART
(Correction): The Russian Leader "D" (Kutusov) should enter on Game-Turn #7 at Moscow. The Russian reinforcing units designated (SEM) appear on the south edge of the map within Russian only.

THE MAPSHEET
(Clarification & Correction): Due to a printing error certain Fortress hexes were more elaborately bordered than others. All grey-bordered hexes are Fortress hexes. The following cities are located in these Areas:
Elbing - FP 2
Riga - R 30
Memel - FP 5
Borisov - R 36

Note: There should be a bridge across the Beresina River at Borisov parallel to the one at Bobruisk.


* * *

1812 Strategic (Area) Game

This errata follows the sequence of the 1812 Strategic Game Rules Folder.

Note: Where corrections and clarifications of various charts and tables
are made, Players should also note such information on the appropriate chart on the mapsheet.

ATTRITION
(Clarification): Ignore attrition results if no unit of the specified type is available anywhere on the mapsheet.

STACKING
(Clarification): Sub-areas represent a separate entity for stacking purposes. Units in each sub-area are formed into separate stacks and are not combined into a single "Area" stack.

RETREAT BEFORE COMBAT

(A) (Correction): If there is a choice as to which area units may retreat
into, the owning Player chooses which area his units are retreated into.

(C) (Correction): If no retreat is possible (due to restrictions of case B above) the stack is eliminated (see case D below).

COMBAT RESOLUTION
(G) (Clarification): When French units are attacked while stacked in
a Russian Fortress they do not receive the Fortress benefit, i.e., no
special subtraction is made from the Russian Player's die roll.

BATTLE PLAN CHART

(Clarification): The "A-1c" and "D-1c" results on this chart are
automatically effected. The Defender may not choose to ignore these results.

When an A&D switch result is combined with a DR(d) result the original
attacking units have the option to retreat into an adjacent area.

Similarly, in any A&D switch result the original Defender may conduct a cavalry pursuit providing he has more cavalry corps than the opposing stack contains.

Also when using the optional Leader units, it an A&D switch result occurs the original Defender may only attack with infantry corps equal to or
less than the total Leadership points he has available.

HOW TO USE THE COMBAT RESULTS TABLE
(Correction): Mathematically, to compute a combat percentage divide the
Defender's value into 100 times the Attacker's value.

HOW TO USE THE CAVALRY PURSUIT TABLE
(Clarification & Correction): Losses from pursuit results should be
effected as closely as possible. In cases where the Defender has fewer
corps that the Pursuit Table requires eliminated the Defender ignores the
excess/ Note: A D plus 2Ex result requires that the Defender eliminate two corps more that the Attacker chooses to eliminate.

DEPOTS
(B) (Omission): If a French Depot unit is created the Area in which it is
created immediately becomes 100% depleted. No corps may draw supply from
that Area in the Supply Interphase of the current Game-Turn nor in any
subsequent Game-Turn.

(D) (Correction): Depots can only be a source of supply for French corps in the same Area. Depots may only be voluntarily eliminated by the French Player at the end of any French Movement Phase.

SUPPLY FROM AREAS
(G) (Clarification): Condition #4 should read, "the adjacent Area contains a Friendly Supply unit".

DEPLETION OF AREAS
(H) (Clarification): Except when creating a Depot the depletion of Areas
takes effect at the end of the Supply Interphase; therefore, an Area that
becomes 100% depleted in the current Supply Interphase could not be used to supply any corps in the next Supply Interphase.

VICTORY POINTS AND CONDITIONS
(Clarification): Note: Supply and/or Leader units alone may capture or control an Area.

SCENARIO #1
(Omission): French also control FW 7 at the start of the game.

TIME RECORD & REINFORCEMENT CHART
(Correction): The Russian Leader "D" (Kutusov) should enter play on Game-Turn #5 at Moscow (Area R57).

Note: there are discrepancies between the Orders of Battle and Reinforcement Tracks in the differing versions of the 1812 game. Players should follow the deployment rules and reinforcement schedules of
whichever version is in play.

THE MAPSHEET
(Omission): The sub-Area 31b should have a Russian Fortress at Polotsk.

11 
 Thumb up
1.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Severus Snape
Canada
flag msg tools
Pascal said, "The eternal silence of these infinite spaces terrifies me."
badge
"The heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of."--Pascal
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for finding this and posting it.

goo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.