Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: analysis [+] Arkham [+] [View All]
Keith Malkowski
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do the colors of the gates indicate their general difficulty? I am new to the game (I've just played two solo games). It appears that red-colored gates are more difficult than the rest, but I can't be sure. I really love the game. I can't wait to show this game to my cousin. I've purchased all the expansions (Dunwich Horror is on its way as I type).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Merric Blackman
Australia
Waubra
Victoria
flag msg tools
designer
Ramping up my reviewing.
badge
Happily playing games for many, many years.
mbmbmbmbmb
To some extent, yes.

I look at the modifier on how hard it is to close a gate to get a feeling for how hard the Outer World encounters are likely to be. R'lyeh is definitely the hardest place.

Cheers!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You mean the colored circles on the gates printed on the side? I have suspected so but haven't spent the time to look into it. it seems that the color you get will general do one thing over another. I don't remember what was what, but blue seemd to help you out, red involved combat. Didn't follow this pattern all the time, iirc, but generally it did.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcin Pędich
Poland
flag msg tools
mb
As far as I've noticed, red is the most deadly, while green seems beneficial.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Eldborn
Sweden
Örebro, Göteborg, Uddevalla
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Though i havent really studied it more closely i would say that the colors have a general difficulty. I would rank it as follows

1. Red (toughest)
2. Blue
3. Yellow
4. Green (easiest)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb