Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Tavern rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Long
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The I-deck Tavern improvement came up in our last game and raised a question: the card shows a 2 VP award, but the text indicates that there are 2VPs going to the player who laid it each time they select it as an action. The question is whether the 2VP symbol on the card is awarded for playing the card (as usual) and then a *further* 2VPs are gained each time the action is selected, or whether the symbol is there only as a reminder that there are 2VPs available each time it is selected as an action and no VPs are earned *until* it is selected.

Any thoughts from anyone else who has used it?

- Derek
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hanno Girke
Germany
Schwabenheim an der Selz
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Tavern is an additional Action space. Whenever another player uses it, s/he receives 3 food. Whenever you use it, you can choose either to take 3 food or to score 2 bonus points. (If another player uses the Tavern, you do not take anything from it.)

You might have noticed that we use 2 different icons for VP. There's a icon with a number in it for a fixed number of VPs at the end of turn. And then there is an icon with a square in it for additional victory points.
So guess why the Tavern action space shows twice the additional victory point icon and not the one with a 2 in it.
(your first impression was correct)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Kudzma
United States
Millsboro
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
People are...
badge
SPOCKED!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have read 3 translations, and the one Funagain was giving out with the game included a more detailed description of the tavern (and this was the way we played it):

The card itself if worth 2 vp. That never changes.

It acts as an extra action space, and other players may gain 3 food from it. The owner of the tavern may use it for 3 food, or they my receive 2 vp.

The translation details that you should track the extra vps earned on the score sheet.

Edit: Hanno beat me to it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Boote
United Kingdom
Virginia Water
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The VP in the left centre indicates that the card is worth 2 VP, whether or not it is ever used

The VP symbol at the bottom of the card shows that iut is possible to gain extra VP from the card
We indicate extra VP with a food counter
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Long
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to you and others for the quick responses.

Got to say: having a great time with this one!

- Derek
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile Holmewood
msg tools
So can the owner of the tavern go on it each turn (provided no one beats them to it) and stack up on victory points? Seems like an easy way to win the game...or at least a better use of a turn than collecting sheep
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Parker
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I think studies show that the average for a decent score is about 2 points per action (starting from the negative score...)
So using an action for 2 points is average. Usually there is something better to do with your action that will help build something bigger. The tavern (and clay pit) is nice as a fallback for your last action in case there is nothing that you really need.
Depending on where you are in the game, grabbing a pair of sheep (which grows points or generates food...) is usually a better option than 2 points.
At times 3 wood can make the difference between building fences for 2 points or for 5 points. So a simple 3 wood grab could be worth 3 points.
2 points from the tavern is hardly a game winning strategy.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.