Subject: Il Principe - too short? or overpaid building cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Jackson
United States
Mather
California
flag msg tools
OK, one time Randy Beaman had to take baths with his brother. So one time his little brother took a potty in the bathtub .....and now Randy Beaman gets to take showers alone. 'K, bye.
badge
One time, OK, see, one time Randy Beaman's little brother ate Pop Rocks and drank a soda at the same time and his head exploded! 'K, bye.
mbmbmbmbmb
Five of us sat down for this beaut. Four were complete newbies to the game, while I, the experienced veteran, had ONE entire play under my belt.

So here we go. Money and cards are dealt, auctions held, and no first round cities built. I recall this from my first game as well. I expect this is pretty regular for most plays. We all played down various colors to get a primary or secondary role-card and moved into the second round.

Armed with more building cards, a few players were able build cities in this round. Quickly the newbies realize the triple advantage to building cities:
1) The cards are placed in your area for role-card consideration later
2) Immediate VP generation
3) Shield accumulation for end-game VP generation
After round 2, a few hints indicated that the blue role-card (place a shiled on the territory map) seemed VERY nice.

Round three yielded similar results - a couple cities built, and the same player able to keep the blue role-card. Now, he had many more shields than the rest of us, even doubling two of his fellow opponents.