Gemblo» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Gemblo as a party game (5 newbies and a novice) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
origami freak
United States
flag msg tools
mb
I brought Gemblo over to a friend's house on New Year's Eve, and after the teenagers had run off to play The Game of Life (40th Anniversary Edition) upstairs (poor things), the other 5 adults agreed to try Gemblo. We're all in our 40s and 50s, to give you an idea of our demographic.

I'd only played the 3-person version twice, the week before, so I was a relative newbie as well. None of us are hardcore gamers, but we enjoy the odd game of Rummikub, etc. and recently I've turned some of them on to Zendo (to the point that the teenage daughter asked, "did you bring that triangle game with the stones?" - and the son reported having played Jewels in the Sand with his friends at school - but they were upstairs playing LIFE (?!) so nevermind.)

Anyway, after convincing my friend to yank out the extra leaves of the table to make it round, I put the board on, took the clear stones (because I think they're hard to see, and therefore hardest to use), and everyone chose a color. I explained the rules and we started play with Henry, to my left. (Since I'd played before it seemed more fair to give myself the hardest position in the game.)

Play continued to Greg, Nita, Jay, and Deb, and then to me. Since this was the first game, we didn't use the Gemblo Expansion Set cards, because I wanted to get everyone used to the normal placement rules. They picked these up very quickly, and before the end of the game Nita was already pointing out moves that I was missing! In the end Nita and I were tied each with 11 stones remaining, while the others varied from 12 to 20 (!)