Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Williams
Australia
Googong
New South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to Euro's being a recovering decades long hex and counter and also table top figure war gamer. A few months ago I took the plunge and started buying New Euro games for my collection and my gaming groups’ enjoyment. My collection has some non hex and counter games like Adv Civ and Machiavelli and the like and I always enjoyed them and the "differences" they gave. In a way, it was like when I was a steady tea drinker. I'd experienced coffee and liked it but it hadn't occurred to me just how much. Then one day I ground fresh beans and I've never looked back.

I should also point out that board games, and particularly acquiring new well made games, has become a secret fetish of mine. I sometimes feel almost a sense of shame at the thrill of getting home with the latest new game and ripping the cellophane off. Or that urge to grab the parcel off the delivery person and shut the door without so much as a "by your leave" because my "fix" has finally arrived. I mean, that first time you gently lift the un-warped perfect box lid off and it is so tight it farts. The smell of that freshly opened box. A whole new world to explore....ermm I digress. (sprinkles cold water on face)

I should also point out that this “review” is more about my initial experiences with the game and will not dissect the rules in detail. In fact, it’s probably a psychological examination of my “darker side” to board gaming using Hamburgum as an example and as such may only be appropriate to those that share my “problem” with a fixation on new games – or people with a medical background.