Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cribbage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cribbage Scoring Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
CanCon, BunnyCon...BorderCon!!!
Australia
KILLARA
VIC
flag msg tools
badge
May 2018 be all you dreamed it would be and be all that you dreamed...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I just had a warm debate with my wife regarding scoring. She beat me anyway, however to the question.

the crib held 3,3,4,5 and something else.

We scored the 2 runs of 3 no problem.

But then we got to the 15's.

She scored 3+3 and 5+4 to make 15.

She finished the scoring and I announced a scoring combo she missed.

I paired the above 4 cards 5+3 and 4+3 to make 15.

She insisted that this was not possible because those 4 cards had already been combined to score 15 and couldn't score 15 in any other way with only those 4 cards.

I begged to differ.

Am I wrong or is she right?

We must have an answer because the loser is doing the dishes?

C'mon people.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You lose.

You get 2 points for each unique combination of cards that add to 15. Two threes, a four, and a five get you a total of 10 points: two runs of three, a pair of threes, and one fifteen.

Consider: if you were correct, 7 & 8 would score four: 7 + 8 and 8 + 7.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Wilson
United States
Pleasanton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll admit I'm no expert, but...I only see one combination of cards that make 15. Sorry, mate.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CanCon, BunnyCon...BorderCon!!!
Australia
KILLARA
VIC
flag msg tools
badge
May 2018 be all you dreamed it would be and be all that you dreamed...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excalabur wrote:
You lose.

You get 2 points for each unique combination of cards that add to 15. Two threes, a four, and a five get you a total of 10 points: two runs of three, a pair of threes, and one fifteen.

Consider: if you were correct, 7 & 8 would score four: 7 + 8 and 8 + 7.


Hmm..ok..I'm happy to be wrong here as you make the same point she did.

However I countered by saying that my example of 7+8 was different to her initial 6+9. These are different sets of totals I have created and not just reversing 2 digits .

Your point however states a unique combinations of cards. I have achieved a new combo but not with a unique set of cards. Hmm.

If that is the rule then I am defeated and I will have to don my French Maids outfit and head to the sink.

Say it ain't so. shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Johnston
United Kingdom
Isle of Wight
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb

If the crib holds 3,3,4,5 then it scores 2 points for 3+3+4+5=15.

There is no 6+9 or 7+8!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CanCon, BunnyCon...BorderCon!!!
Australia
KILLARA
VIC
flag msg tools
badge
May 2018 be all you dreamed it would be and be all that you dreamed...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I'm off to the sink.

Thanks for the help everyone.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I shudder to think what you'd have scored using your method on a hand with A-2-3-4-5.

14 (2345) and 1 (A).
13 (A345) and 2 (2).
12 (A245) and 3 (3).
12 (345) and 3 (A2).
11 (245) and 4 (A3).
11 (A235) and 4 (4).
10 (A45) and 5 (23).
10 (235) and 5 (A4).
10 (A234) and 5 (5).
9 (234) and 6 (A5).
9 (A35) and 6 (24).
9 (45) and 6 (A23).
8 (35) and 7 (A24).
8 (A25) and 7 (34).
8 (A34) and 7 (25).

And a run of 5 (or is that 3 runs of 3? A23, 234, 345? Nah...) makes... 35! (or 39).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CanCon, BunnyCon...BorderCon!!!
Australia
KILLARA
VIC
flag msg tools
badge
May 2018 be all you dreamed it would be and be all that you dreamed...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok ok...let's put this one down to a monumental brain fade.

I really can't lose here because my stupidity is my wife's victory.

There's always a silver lining.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Parsons
United States
Alto
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neil Thomson wrote:
If that is the rule then I am defeated and I will have to don my French Maids outfit and head to the sink.

Say it ain't so. shake


As they say on the internet...it didn't happen without pictures!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.