Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Specific cards: The Iron Lady rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Background: In 1979 Margaret Thatcher won a General election against Labour's Jim Callaghan, iniating a long period of rightwing rule in the UK. Mrs Thatcher was a powerful and domineering Prime Minister and firmly on the USA's side in the Cold War. In 1982 Argentina seized the Fallkland Islands from the UK, and Mrs Thatcher sent a naval task force to retake them, posing a dilemma for the USA who wanted to stay on good terms with both sides. The UK won the war and Mrs Thatcher continued in office until being toppled by her own party in 1990.

Effect: USA 3 Ops starred event. Gain 1 VP, eliminate all USSR influence in the UK, Socialist Governments may no longer be played, add 1 USSR influence in Argentina.

Strategy: There is normally no USSR influence in the UK, so the use of this card revolves around whether Socialist governments is likely to appear before the game ends. If not, USA can play the card for Ops, avoiding destabilisng Argentina. If the USSR has the card he can use it to take Argentina, which is probably worth the lost VP.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Massey
United States
Teachey
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Casual wargamer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this card in the early,mid, or late war deck?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is in the Late War Deck, hence my comment about whether Socialist governments is likely to make another appearance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Massey
United States
Teachey
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Casual wargamer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I've played two games of TS and I've never gotten past the early war. Someday!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McCoy
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a weird card. It's an American event can be of more benefit to the Soviets than the Americans. Especially if the Soviets draw the card themselves and play it as an action. Forces the Americans to put extra influence in Argentina, or rely on other countries in South America.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Frisk
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
MIND|GAMES
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vynd wrote:
This is a weird card. It's an American event can be of more benefit to the Soviets than the Americans. Especially if the Soviets draw the card themselves and play it as an action. Forces the Americans to put extra influence in Argentina, or rely on other countries in South America.


Agreed. I was dismayed to draw this as the US last night. Since like everyone else, my late war cards are seen about 1/10 as frequently as other cards, i felt like I had been robbed. I didn't want to give the USSR any foothold in South America... and even if it didn't help the USSR, the 3 ops are almost always better spent than a single vp.

The only time I can picture playing this is if I'm nervous about wargames, or in striking distance of playing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Pollock
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of things:

One thing to note is the USSR can't play this for Ops, use the event to place 1 influence in Argentina, and then use that 1 inf for adjacency. Adjacency is determined at the the start of an action round. Unless every VP is starting to count or you're planning on a Socialist Governments, I consider this a fairly safe 3 Ops for the USSR.

In the hand of the US, unless you're concerned about the possibility of a headlined Socialist Governments ruining the party, or the 1 VP is looking critical, it's mostly just a safe 3 Ops late-war card for the US. The event can be annoying because of the 1 USSR inf in Argentina, particularly if Chile is uncontrolled or the US doesn't overcontrol Arg.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D'Amico
United States
Milford
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing earlier today as the US I drew both Iron Lady and Socialist Governments, so I headlined IL and then used Socialist Governments for free Ops later in the turn. I was making a major push in Europe so the combo came in handy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Kitt
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Jambo wrote:
One thing to note is the USSR can't play this for Ops, use the event to place 1 influence in Argentina, and then use that 1 inf for adjacency. Adjacency is determined at the the start of an action round.


Oh wow, you're right! I never knew this. Of course, most games the USSR will have a couple of influence in Chile due to Allende anyway, so they can still use the combo to take Argentina in those cases.

I think this is the only event that results in opposing influence, so it won't come up often at all, but it's definitely good to know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
flag msg tools
Heart full of soul, head full of shit
badge
Snob of the People
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6.1.1 Influence markers are placed one at a time. However, all
markers must be placed with, or adjacent to, friendly markers that
were in place at the start of the phasing player’s Action Round.
Exception: markers placed when required by an Event are not
subject to this restriction, unless specifically stated otherwise on
the card.
If the amount of influence is sufficent to gain control
of the country, place the marker on its darker side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Pollock
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure on the reason for the rules quote - do you mean to dispute the reasoning?

Anyway, all that means is that the 1 inf placed in Argentina through the event isn't subject to the requirement for adjacency.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.