Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a minor question. Almost so irrelevant, its not worth asking, but I'm curious.

Two Scenarios:
A) A donkey & 2 boards are on one side of a river. The river is spanned by a bridge.

B) A donkey & 2 boards are on one side of a river. The river is spanned by a raft.

In A, obviously at the beginning of the donkeys move, it can just cross the river.

Is it the same with B ? Or would the donkey have been loaded onto the raft at the end of its LAST movement (and thus leaving the 2 boards unguarded until it departs).

IE:
Turn N: Donkey drops the boards & Boards the Raft (which must also be empty)
Turn N+1: Donkey debarks on the other side. Raft then ferries the boards, which donkey picks up and carries off.

Is this correct ?

-T

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mb
I am no authority as I am just getting into the game myself. But the way I understand it to be the way you have outlined in your example. The Raft is not a bridge and so the Donkey cannot simply cross it with his goods as if it were a bridge. When one transporter is transporting another, neither may carry any goods so they stay behind.

The only thing I am not sure about is if the Donkey can carry the goods immediately after the Raft ferries them across. I am not sure if it is considered "no movement" since it is all within the same tile or if it is considered "extending the move" since it has passed between two transporters of the same player. I think they way I would play it is build a bridge.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco
Netherlands
Arnhem
Gelderland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Brian is right: the donkey can't carry off with the boards, when those have been ferried by the raft in that same turn. A working solution is:

Turn N: The raft ferries the boards and then the donkey is boarding.