Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

1960: The Making of the President» Forums » Rules

Subject: Whistlestop/ Nixon's Knee rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Nixon have to spend a momentum to use whistlestop as an event if he is suffering from Nixon's knee?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Chavez
Mexico
Monterrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Using it as an event is NOT using it as a Campaign Action. So, no need to pay momentum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Milverton
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
I'd played it the other way round.

The card explicitly says 'spend 7CP on a campaigning action', so we assumed that Nixon's knee did apply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Figuracion
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The fact that the Whistlestop is specifically aimed towards 7cp toward a campaign action would suggest to me that Nixon's Knee would still work. Most other events use the specific add support cubes language.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We also presumed that if you crossed a region border, you blew a cube in transit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Further, on the Whistlestops, historically, the candidates didn't get off the train. Nixon's Knee wouldn't be a sign of weakness in such a case.

You play the event.
You get 7 CP to be used 'as campaign actions'.
You spend them.

I believe that the 'spend as campaign actions' is intended to say that you pay transit costs across region borders -- but would love clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Shalev
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that the 'on a campaigning action' language means that if you spend the points in a state carried by your opponent you still have to make support checks to add cubes. I don't think you have to pay travel expenses if placing cubes in more than one region, and the way we've been playing it, the candidate's token doesn't move either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Garner
United States
Fayetteville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
also Game Developer
badge
Personal LnLT Avatar
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nixon's Knee - Immediately move the Nixon candidate marker to Maryland without paying the normal travel costs. For the remainder of the turn, the Nixon player must expend 1 momentum marker in order to play a card as a Campaigning action.

Whistle Stop - Player may spend 7-CP on a Campaigning action, expending no more than 1-CP per state.

Playing Whistle Stop as an event DOES NOT trigger Nixon's knee. As it is clearly stated in the rule above, Whistle Stop would have to be used for CPs (not used as an event, in other words) in order to trigger Nixon's Knee. The fact that Whistle Stop as an event gives 7-CPs to be used for campaigning is irrelevant to the card interaction in this particular case.

If a card's event is used (whatever event it may be), then the card is not being used as CPs for campaigning actions, which is the key here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Garner
United States
Fayetteville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
also Game Developer
badge
Personal LnLT Avatar
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whistle Stop gives you 7-CPs that are used to "Campaign" in the states of your choice (1-CP per state), and so all rules that apply to campaigning in a state, including movement of your candidate playing piece and the cost of movement to another region, as well as support checks, would most certainly apply.

Nowhere does the card Whistle Stop say that you can use the 7-CPs for Media or Issues. It is strictly for Campaigning which allows you to add 1 influence in 7 different states, but in this case the card event uses the normal "campaign" mechanic, rather than the "add support cubes in any state you wish" mechanic. The wording here is definitely key to playing the card correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.