St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
mbmbmbmbmb
Introduction

I have been playing TI for about 7 years, shortly after the release of the 2nd edition. My friends and I adored the game, even in its inconsistencies and prolonged play. With the advent of the third edition, TI matured with our own tastes (now preferring El Grande and Caylus to Risk and Axis and Allies). But, despite an elegant and complex system certain aspects of TI frustrated us, and therefore, over the next few years we tweaked the rules to accommodate our tastes.

About this time last year we thought we had finally nailed it. Our games never went longer than 4 hours, and all players enjoyed themselves. Our house rules used a victory point heavy version of the Age of Empire option (more objectives off board and on board) and could easily accommodate a variety of players' styles. Over winter break my friends and I sat down for another game, but afterward we felt that, in striping down TI to create a sleeker, quicker game, we had taken something elemental from it. Over the rest of the break we worked to create a new set of victory rules that did not change the fundamentals of the rules, but allowed for a more immersive and confrontational experience without ballooning the games temporal footprint. The result is a game that provides the feeling of a space opera, filled with political intrigue and epic battles, but sidesteps the usual problems of downtime and player elimination.

This variant has been tested in 5 games now, with the following amount of players: 8, 8, 6, 4, 3. The games (excluding setup time) have been between 2-5.5 hours, depending on the number of players. I will try to keep the rules brief and clear in this post, and will happily answer any questions. After I play a few more games I will post a more polished PDF of the rules.